Thought Balloon: Make Mine…Valiant (aka ComicsCarl gushes about Valiant Comics)!

Valiant Comics RPGSo I understand that the title of this entry may confuse and anger some. The Make Mine tagline has been associated with Marvel Comics (Make Mine Marvel) for years. I’m not saying that I hate Marvel Comics or that Valiant Comics is better, but right now I find the Valiant Universe more interesting and exciting than either the Marvel or DC Universes.

Most of this stems from the fact that I recently gave up collecting and reading X-O Manowar, which I have collected since issue #1, so that I can try some new titles from the Big Two. I didn’t hate the direction that X-O was going or anything that Valiant had done, where I left off was a good place to end as it finished up almost a year and a half long storyline and established X-O’s place in the Valiant Universe. I wanted to give new titles like Iron Fist, The Living Weapon; Loki, Agent of Asgard; Aquaman and the Others, and some of their event titles a try. Since Batman Beyond was playing heavily in DC’s weekly event series, New 52- Future’s End, I really wanted to see what this alternate future held in store for the DC U. Marvel was pushing their event, Original Sin, and I wanted to see how that effected the Marvel U and what “sins” would be revealed through the event (I know of two that still interest me like Angela being Thor and Loki’s sister and what happened to Nova in the Cancerverse and how did Thanos and Star-Lord escape). However, when I picked up these series, they did not appeal to me at all! I found the first issue of Original Sin lacking and the first few weeks of Future’s End boring. Also, of the new titles that I’ve tried, Loki is the only one that really grabbed me, and its the only one that I’ll still be reading and reviewing (I’ll probably be getting the collections of both Iron Fist and Aquaman and the Others when they come out). So with some funds and time freed up, I decided to head back to a familiar friend, X-O Manowar, and boy was I glad that I did!

I just reviewed the last few issues of X-O and I must say that I’m really excited for the Armor Hunters event. The anniversary issue of X-O was amazing and should be the standard for all special issues going forth for all publishers. X-O isn’t the only great book from Valiant that I’m collecting, Rai is an excellent title with a great world, interesting story and some of the most beautiful art I’ve ever seen! But don’t get me wrong, these aren’t the only good titles from Valiant, I’ve read Bloodshot, Harbinger, Shadowman, and Archer and Armstrong in collected form and they are all great reads. I wish I could collected everything, but funds, time and space are all tight. In addition to their comics, Valiant has partnered with Amazon to publish Kindle digital novellas under the Kindle Words brand. I’ve read a handful of these, mostly the X-O and Archer and Armstrong titles. For $1 or more, you can get great, short stories set in the Valiant Universe by a multitude of new and/or upcoming writers. Heck, if you fancy yourself a storyteller, you too can write and submit a Valiant Universe Kindle Words story and get paid for it. Valiant also has a mobile game based on their first crossover event, Harbinger Wars, and a tabletop role-playing game in the works for release this summer. As a D&D gamer, you can expect a review of the RPG when it releases!

OK, I’ve rambled on for too long. I just love the Valiant Universe! I loved it back in the 90’s and I love it today. If you enjoy superhero comics and aren’t reading at least one of Valiant’s titles, you’re doing yourself a disservice. Most of the main Valiant titles have been collected into massive hardcover collections, each containing the first years worth of issues. I’d rather see you support your local comic shop, but if you want a deal on these titles, check out Amazon for any of Valiant’s titles, and while you’re there, download the Kindle app to your smartphone or tablet and pickup one or more of the Kindle Words stories, they’re great, fun, short reads.

Make Mine Valiant….indeed!

Categories: Comics, Thought Balloon | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.